Indoor Mask Requirement Extended

Dear Wheaton Community,

The number of positive cases within our community has decreased since the implementation of the mask mandate on April 12. However, we continue to see additional cases on a daily basis.  As a result, the college has extended the indoor mask policy through the end of the Final Exam period, May 15, 2022.  As we continue to prioritize the health and safety of the community and work towards celebrating our traditional end-of-the-semester activities, we would like to remind the community of existing campus protocols:

Indoor Mask Requirements
Masks will be required in ALL indoor settings, including classrooms, offices, residence halls, and dining facilities, except when individuals are actively eating, drinking, or bathing, are inside residence hall rooms with only roommates, or are alone in private offices. 

Quarantine and Isolation Housing
As has been the protocol for the Spring 2022 semester, any student who tests positive and lives within a reasonable distance of campus will be expected to return to their permanent address to complete their isolation period. 

Symptom Monitoring
As a reminder, please stay in your place of residence if you are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19. If you are a student on campus, contact Norton Medical Center at 508-285-9500 to schedule an appointment to be seen. Employees should follow up with their primary care physician.

Events and Guests
At this time, there are no additional restrictions for events and activities, with the exception of masks being temporarily required for all indoor spaces on campus. Commencement and end-of-year activities will continue as planned and we anticipate no changes at this time.

We truly appreciate your continued flexibility. As the COVID-19 pandemic has shown us, we must continue to balance our community engagement with vigilance and caution.

On behalf of the COVID-19 Task Force,

Darnell Parker
Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Zachary Irish
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Chair of the COVID-19 Task Force