Honors Convocation 2020 Award Recipients

Dear Wheaton College Students, Parents, Faculty, Staff and Friends:

Wheaton College has been celebrating academic excellence at Honors Convocation for over 90 years.  This year marks the first year in the College’s history that we are not able to come together as a community for this special occasion.  Normally, we would all gather in Cole Memorial Chapel to celebrate members of our community who have excelled in their academic and intellectual pursuits.  While we are not able to celebrate these accomplishments in person this year, in no way should that diminish the excellent work and dedication that our students, individually and collectively, have achieved during their time at Wheaton.

We proudly acknowledge those dozens of students from all four classes who have been recognized by national honor societies or by Wheaton College, from Phi Beta Kappa inductees to our Balfour Scholar Award recipients.  We also recognize departmental and college-wide awards, which are given to both graduating seniors as well as underclass students, whose departments are recognizing their promise in a given field.  Most awardees are seniors who, over the past four years, have distinguished themselves as scholars and academic citizens of Wheaton College.  We also take this time to honor those faculty members who have been important in the lives of these students, including the Senior Class Faculty Appreciation Award.

I, like many of you, am disappointed that we can’t share in these accomplishments together but know that the entire Wheaton Community is with you in spirit during this difficult and unprecedented time.  As we congratulate our students, we also recognize, with deep appreciation, the parents, family members, and friends who have nurtured and supported these impressive students.  I know you will look with pride at the honorees this year, by viewing the program linked here.  Wheaton College shares the pride you feel in their accomplishments, and we look forward to the contributions they will make in the future.

Stay healthy and safe, and congratulations to all of the honorees.

Renée T. White, Provost