Academic Division Head Appointments

At the start of the fall semester, we began discussions about reorganizing the college’s academic units to create structures that build on our history of collaboration and interdisciplinary endeavors, create larger ‘spaces’ for faculty discussion and innovation, and enhance our ability to focus on the student experience. 

I am happy to announce that we are taking an important step forward in this process: appointing faculty members to serve as the inaugural heads of the three academic divisions. 

Hilary Magruder Gaudet, associate professor of chemistry, will lead the Division of Mathematics and Sciences; Michael Berg, professor of psychology, will lead the Division of Social Sciences; and Stephanie Burlington Daniels, professor of theatre, will lead the Division of Humanities and Creative Arts. 

These appointments, which will begin this summer, will help us build upon the college’s existing organizational structure. Academic departments have been organized into divisions since at least 1941, when President Park recommended four academic divisions (Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, and Physical Sciences). By 1981, the college recognized the three divisions that exist today. Until now, however, the divisions have operated informally, organizing representation on faculty committees and, at times, the distribution of curriculum requirements.

The three division heads will work with department chairs to infuse new energy into the divisional structure by identifying and addressing challenges and opportunities in the many majors and disciplines that make up each division. They each come into the positions with new ideas and enthusiasm, and I know that they each look forward to working with the Wheaton community. We’ll share more on their visions in the coming weeks.

Each division comprises several departments and many majors. Given the complexity and number of the majors, minors, and interdisciplinary programs, we will create a graphic or chart to identify Division Heads and Department Chairs responsible for each area.

I will continue to keep you updated. Please join me in congratulating our new Division Heads.

Thank you,
Karen McCormack
Interim Provost